Visitors to Eastern Maine Medical Center’s State Street campus can now travel back in time, viewing photos and facts from more than 120 years of caring for patients, families, communities, and one another. In recognition of the rich history that has shaped EMMC from a five-bed general hospital into a comprehensive, tertiary medical center serving the northern two-thirds of Maine, EMMC recently installed a 168 foot historical timeline spanning the hallway leading from the Main Entrance to the Grant building.
When EMMC broke ground on the Modernization Project last fall, the main hospital entrance was relocated to a temporary corridor that will be used through 2015. This new passageway creates an opportunity to experience EMMC’s history as it embarks on a project that allows the hospital to meet the needs of generations of Mainers to come.
Patients and visitors are encouraged to stop by and enjoy a piece of Bangor’s healthcare history. See a photo of the first hospital building in 1892, perched alone on the Penobscot River. View a shot of the first dedicated children’s ward and find out when the first medical student arrives in Bangor. See our horse drawn ambulance. Uncover when the first computer was booted up for digital patient records and follow the medical and technological advancements that continue to evolve patient care today.